Developmental Edit Returns like the Prodigal Son

My mermaid short story is finally off to my line-editor and I have to say I feel pretty good about it. I can see that story developing into something more, but my thoughts of that got sidetracked because I got my development edits back on Friday. First of all, my editor worked on my novel for two months and he sent me tons of information: a 70 page critique breaking down everything from issues with plot, character, arcs, pacing, etc; a chapter by chapter break down, and, of course, my correct manuscript, which was over 500 pages. The man worked, but then again it costs too.

I’m playing around with this post so I will be changing it and updating it as I go, but I wanted to make some notes about the experience.

First thing I did, was get a green (favorite color) highlighter and mark all the good praise on the first page. Luckily there was lots of things to highlight. Why did I do this? Because I know that in the over 100 pages of critique, I wanted to have have something to come back to incase I needed it. However, I will say that I am pretty open when it comes into input as long as it comes from a professional who knows what they are talking about. Trust me, after only the first 10 pages of the notes, I have tons of work to do, but I did this to improve my story and my craft. I went into this, not only as an edit, but as a learning tool and experience.

So this is what I have done so far:

  1. Green Highlights for praise
  2. Pink highlights for suggestions (supposedly you can’t be angry when you see pink)
  3. Yellow when the editor asked a question that needs to be answered in the book.

I’m going to go through the editor’s pack and then make my first list of the biggest edits and then get to work. I’ll keep you updated.

Leave a Reply

